Back to Sustainability

Sustainability Advisory Panel

Our Sustainability Advisory Panel provides an external lens on our progress in implementing our sustainability strategy.

The panel gives challenging and constructive feedback, along with direction and advice in relation to powering the circular economy and the journey to a carbon-neutral future for Aotearoa New Zealand. 

See our 2024 Members:

advisory circles-01

Lisa Martin (Chair)

Lisa Martin is the Managing Director of her own consultancy, specialising in business strategy, risk, and sustainability, and the executive General Manager of Sustainability and Farming Systems at Pāmu Farms (Landcorp) with responsibility for providing leadership and advocacy for sustainability and best practice farming systems. Through this role, she is responsible for informing and driving change to advance Pāmu’s strategies, tactics and performance to achieve sustainable business outcomes across operations, animal health, welfare and nutrition, agronomy, environment, data, geospatial, and quality specialist areas.

Lisa is a visionary and strategic leader, with strong technical skills, passion, and drive to achieve exceptional outcomes. She is a highly motivated, capable and solutions-focused professional, with a track record of success in leading, designing, and delivering best-practice sustainability programmes.

advisory circles-03

Tom Nickels

Tom retired from his role as Managing Director at Waste Management at the end of 2020 and at that transition was invited to join the Sustainability External Advisory Panel where he has been able to continue to apply his industry background knowledge and keen interest in sustainability.

During his time as the Managing Director Tom was one of the leading sustainability leaders within New Zealand, from driving the development and launch of electric trucks into Waste Management, to signing the company up to the Climate Leaders Coalition as one of the original 60 initial members in 2018. With engineering and business management qualifications his career has spanned manufacturing, processing, transport, energy, waste, and environmental services, and overarching all these roles has been an unwavering commitment to safety.

advisory circles-04

Tim Manukau

Tim is of Tainui Māori descent and is currently a co-director of the Environmental Research Institute at the University of Waikato. Tim is an iwi trustee on the Te Motu-a-Hiaroa Charitable Trust and the Te Motu-a-Hiaroa Management Trust on Puketutu island where Living Earth operates a composting operation. Tim has the support of a number of iwi to be a member of the Sustainability Advisory Panel. Tim was a long-time Environmental Manager for the Waikato-Tainui iwi and an advisor on the Waikato River Treaty Settlement negotiations. Tim was a technical advisor to the Iwi Leaders Group and developed joint management agreements and ministerial accords with local and central government, which promoted sustainability as a core principle.

Tim has represented corporate, government, council, iwi, and community interests in the area of resource management and has acted as an independent RMA commissioner. Tim was a member of Hamilton City’s Environmental Sustainability Strategy Leadership Forum and has been an advocate for indigenous sustainability practices and knowledge both in NZ and overseas.

advisory circles-02

Dr Hugh Logan

Hugh comes with an extensive background in environmental and resource management. He was the CEO of the Ministry for the Environment and the Department of Conservation, and before that headed the New Zealand Antarctic Programme. His experience has been at a central and regional government level and he currently chairs Environment Canterbury’s Regional Freshwater Committee.

He is steeped in government policy, legislation, and regulation development. Of direct relevance to Waste Management was his involvement with the development of the waste minimisation legislation (including the waste levy), nationwide contaminated sites, as well as climate change legislation (including the emissions trading scheme in 2008).